The "Eight Prangs" The form of a Thai Prang (tower) derives from the Khmer prasat, but whereas a prasat is "a residence of a king or a god," a prang has the same function as a chedi. The "Eight Prangs" are of different colours. Each one is dedicated to a certain Buddhist concept, as follows:

White : The Buddha Sakayamuni

Purplish Blue : The Teaching of the Buddha

Pink : The Community of Buddhist Monks

Green : The Buddhist Female Monks

Purple : One who has attained nirvana but who is not able to preach the knowledge to men

(P. pacceka-buddha)

Dark Blue : The Universal Monarchs

Red : The Buddha in his Former Lives

Yellow : The Buddha Maitreya, the Future Buddha

How to view Virtual Reality scene.

You can rotate the picture to the left-right, up-down

by dragging cursor over the image.

For zoom in-out : Press Shift - Control key (cursor over the image)

[ Home | Welcome to The Grand Palace | The Chapel Royal of The Emerald Buddha ]

[ The Upper Terrace | Subsidiary Buildings ]

[ The Galleries | The Phra Maha Monthian | Chakri MahaPrasat Hall | Dusit Maha Prasat Hall ]

[ Borom Phiman Mansion | Phra Asada Maha Chedi | Amarin Winitchai Hall | Bureau of The Royal Household ]

[ Grand Palace Map | Wat Phra Keo Museum | Virtual Reality Information | Helpful Information ]